Skip To Main Content

Our Schools

About Our School

 

Historical Summary of H.V. Helbing Elementary School

Located in the Diamond Hill neighborhood of North Fort Worth, H.V. Helbing Elementary School stands on the former site of the Fostepco Heights School. The original structure was the first to be built under Fort Worth ISD’s 1948 building program. Designed by architect Clyde H. Woodruff, the building reflects the influence of the Moderne Movement of the 1930s and 1940s, featuring rough-cut limestone, red brick, vertical stone pilasters, and horizontal cast stone banding.

The school expanded over the years to accommodate a growing student population. In 1954, four classrooms were added by the M.W. Bogart Construction Company, followed by four more classrooms and a new cafeteria in 1957. These additions maintained the original red brick and horizontal banding design. Later renovations included metal panel infills in the window openings and the addition of a gym and two Special Education classrooms under a bond program.

Dr. Hugh Van Etten Helbing

The school was renamed on March 4, 1948, in honor of Dr. Hugh Van Etten Helbing, a dedicated physician and school board member who served Fort Worth’s north side for 56 years. Dr. Helbing was instrumental in advocating for the construction of the new school building, and his 15 years of service on the school board from 1932 to 1947 were recognized through this naming.